2017-2018 Annual Report

WPLLA continued to provide programming opportunities that included on-site and remote capabilities to accommodate members.   Roundtables continue to be popular with our members.  WPLLA hopes to offer more informal social events to help strengthen networking for members.

In 2017-2018, the Programming Committee chaired by Melanie Cline offered several well-attended programs.  These included: Chris Randall of SMI Aware – social media evidence collection and preservation; Allegheny County Law Library’s 150th anniversary event; Roundtable Discussion: “Moving your library and switching to or from Lexis or Westlaw”; Tim Stevenson – “Webinar Productivity Tips”; Roundtable Discussion – “Technology for libraries and law firms”, and a Roundtable Discussion on Training.  WPLLA continued its Holiday and Banquet events. The Banquet event this year was a celebration of WPLLA’s 40th anniversary.  Speakers about the history of WPLLA included Joel Fishman, Marc Silverman, and Patty Horvath.  There was also a trivia game and a slide show with pictures and memorabilia.

The WPLLA membership directory (pdf) was supplied to members.

The WPLLA Board acknowledges that members feel increased demands on their time and energies at work and at home.   WPLLA offered a list of committees with short descriptions and examples of “limited time” volunteer opportunities to increase participation.

WPLLA awarded a travel grant for the 2018 AALL Annual Meeting & Conference to Vice President/President elect Rita Young.

WPLLA continues to provide networking and educational opportunities to its members and continues to promote itself to the larger legal community. The Board and its members reach out to mentor and welcome new members and look for opportunities to promote WPLLA membership.

The Executive Board for 2017-2018:  Joel Fishman – President;  Melanie Cline – Vice President/President -Elect;  Kate Frey – Secretary;  Sarah Steers – Treasurer;  Pat Roncevich – Past President;  Jamie Yancich and Karen Eriksen – Members at Large.

The Executive Board for 2018-2019:  Melanie Cline – President; Rita Young – President//President -Elect; Chris Todd – Secretary;  Sarah Steers – Treasurer;  Joel Fishman – Past President;  Karen Eriksen and Mary Seitz – Members at Large.

Joel Fishman, President 2017-2018

August 20, 2018

%d bloggers like this: